Home

Some days I really do believe that the universe deals out its fate on the whim of a giant ‘Wheel of Fortune’, spun by the karma gods.

Case in point: today I’m sitting at my desk diligently typing out my resume and applying online for graduate programs.

I’m being good.

I’m planning my future!

I’m doing my work from home, and the tv totally isn’t on (…nor am I watching 30 Rock in the background).

I’m picking up so much good karma I can’t possibly fit it in my little karma basket until….

…*Sploosh!*

Major karma spill-age.

My computer dies. The resume – gone! And I can kiss the last 3 hours of online job application questionnaires goodbye because I didn’t save my answers at the last check point (when will I learn?).

So, today’s lesson comes in two parts:

Karma is a cruel hussy

Muffins fix that.

photo

These are called “I-should-have-saved-my-work-more-regularly” muffins. Or if Coconut Berry Muffins works better for you, you can definitely go with that too.

Coconut and Berry muffins.

These are best enjoyed sitting on the couch feeling sorry for yourself. Or served with ice cream. Or both…

The dry bits:

2 cups self raising flour

1 cup desiccated coconut

¾ cup brown sugar (firmly packed)

The wet bits:

125g melted butter

2 beaten eggs

1 cup milk

185g berries of choice. (Frozen are definitely fine. Be sure to thaw them and drain excess fluid out before adding to the mix)

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. Line a 12 hole muffin tray
  3. Sift and mix the dry bits in a big bowl
  4. Mix the wet bits in another bowl
  5. Make a well in the dry bits and add the wet bits.
  6. Add the berries and stir until just combined. No more.
  7. Pour and bake for 20 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Coconut and berry muffins

Leave a comment