Home

Today I made pumpkin bread (and then some muffins). They are delicious. You should definitely try some. But more on that in a bit…

Vegan, pumpkin, muffins, baking, Joy the Baker

Can I talk to you about something?

It’s nothing major, just a thought. A mere flicker of excitement, or maybe a flash of enthusiasm.

You know, no biggie.

As I crawl slowly but surely to the end of my university degree, pieces of interest and parts of skill are coming together. If I could work out how to make that translate into a job involving food and/or a camera lens and a keyboard plus a steady pay cheque, I would be one Happy Little Camper!

In this world, I might write for a blog. Then people actually read it.
In this world, I might work from home in my ugg boots with a cup of tea.
In this world, I might talk about, write about, photograph, cook and/or market food. Every day. Because it is fun.

Although not just for fun, but for car fuel, and electricity and the daily occasional caramel slice from that deli down the road.

But until then, I’ll happily keep my eye on those who already do it so well.

And there ain’t NO one who does it better than Joy the Baker.

Now, I’ve written about Joy here before, so I apologize for the double-up. (Actually I don’t. Ms Wilson is an absolute pleasure, and if you’re not already familiar with her vanilla-infused ways, then GET yo’self to her website).

You can check her out here and here.

This girl knows what’s up.

She celebrates butter. She knows the value of a good cinnamon roll at the end of a hard week. She has a healthy respect for kale, and an ever-charming love for everything that is good.

I feel like we’d have a lot to talk about. I feel like we could be friends… You might even say I choose her for my Home Girl (too much?).

She’s the reason I love to clog people’s Instagram feeds with plates of food.
She’s the reason I know in my heart of hearts that it’s (sometimes) ok to have dessert for breakfast.

And for that, I am eternally grateful.

So here’s to you, Joy!

(P.S: I hope you accept this Ode-Post with the gentle notes of appreciation with which it was intended, and not the potential ‘crazed blog stalker’ tone which could be dangerously inferred.)

This bread is deceptively indulgent. Close your eyes and you would never guess it is vegan-friendly and contains a hefty proportion of vegetable.

I love Joy’s original recipe, but in the interests of what-I-already-had-in-the-pantry, and my preference for things to be less sweet, here is my version.

A Variation on Joy the Baker’s Vegan Pumpkin Bread.

Her book is one that every cake-admirer should have in their collection.

Bits and pieces:

2 cups self raising flour
1 and 3/4 cups wholemeal flour
1 cup brown sugar
pinch of salt
1 teaspoon each of nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and Chinese five-spice (or allspice, depending on your preference).
15 ounces of grated pumpkin
1 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup water
1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (plus a few extras for garnishy flourish)

Stuff you do:

1. Pre-heat an oven to 180 degrees Celcius,
2. Line and grease a small/medium baking pan
3. In one bowl, whisk the flours, spices, salt and sugar. In another bowl, whisk pumpkin, water, coconut oil and syrup.
4. Add the wet stuff to the dry stuff and mix (resist the urge to over-mix).
5. Pour into the pan, leaving enough room for some expansion.

Note: If at this stage, you have extra batter that seems to be in a quantity that is too much to be a shameless lick-the-bowl snack, you can always turn it into muffins. Proceed to then lick the bowl for good.

6. I bake this for 1 hour 30 minutes, but you’re best to check it at 1 hour 15 minutes for a test.
7. Once cooked, let it sit in its pan for about 20 mintues before letting it cool on a cake rack.

Slice, butter and enjoy.


Yours in chocolate chips,

Mary.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin cake and an Ode to Joy.

Leave a comment