Home

20120916-085553.jpg

“Things I would rather do than go for a jog: Clean Courtney Love’s toilet bowl with my own tooth brush. Then brush my teeth. Twice.”

– Me. About a year ago.

For five years, I have been trapped in a perpetual cycle of trying to become a runner. Every once in a while, I would decide jogging might be for me, have a run, embrace the fail, and resign to the couch full of pain, out of breath and eating some sort of delicious baked good.

I used to drive past fit young people running like gazelles and mutter jealous gibberish of disapproval under my breath.

Lately, I surprised everyone when I ran Sydney’s annual 14km ‘City2Surf’ fun-run with my brother, my sister-in-law and two of my sisters. In typical style, I tried to cram my training in 2 weeks before the big day.

(I would not recommend this)

Somehow, I managed to cross the finish line on little more than a fuel of Nutella toast, Maceo Parker, and a healthy dose of family competition.

Everyone’s low expectations were exceeded only by my own. So, to cut a long story short, a miracle happened.

I ran, I sweated, then 90 minutes later I crossed the finish line and inhaled a muesli bar in 10 seconds flat.

I must have enjoyed myself, because since then, I have registered for another 10km event and haven’t stopped running.

Until now.

My left hip-flexor muscles have chucked a bit of a tantrum and I have no choice but to take it easy for a week.

Boo.

…Which brings me to Friday.

Hanging onto a week’s worth of pent-up jittery jogging energy, I desperately needed to do something to keep my hands busy. Enter, vanilla roasted strawberry fro-yo.

This frozen yoghurt had been on my mind since I read this and this.

While it might go against all your senses to roast strawberries in oil and salt, just trust me. Things turn into juicy salted caramel-ly yum.

Everything will be fine. So very fine.

Vanilla roasted strawberry frozen yoghurt.

2 punnets of strawberries
1.5 tsp vanilla paste
750g Greek yoghurt
Olive or coconut oil
Pinch of salt
1/3 cup Maple syrup, plus a slosh extra

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees Celsius and line a baking tray well with baking paper. You don’t want any strawberry juice to leak and become burnt.

Trim the strawberries and cut in half. Toss them in oil, add the salt and about 2 tablespoons of maple syrup.

Spread them over the tray and roast for 40 minutes. Keep a keen eye on them after 30 minutes, because once they burn, there’s no going back.

Mix the vanilla and the yoghurt and maple syrup (to taste) and chill in the fridge. Once the strawberries are done, tip them and their juices into a bowl and chill.

Once chilled, mix the yoghurt and the strawberries and churn in an ice-cream mixer until firm.

Scoop and enjoy!

A note: Homemade fro-yo and ice cream is best churned to order and enjoyed on the spot. Any left overs will last about 2 weeks in the freezer (but I dare you to make it last that long).

One thought on “Vanilla roasted strawberry frozen yoghurt.

  1. Your jogging achievements are really inspiring Mary keep up the wonderful progress! I totally agree that during recovery one has to keep busy with some fine, roast strawberry froyo.

Leave a Reply

